Author Topic: I have some carbon fiber  (Read 1603 times)

n3480h

• Subscriber
  • registered
  • My Gallery
  • Engine: VW 2287cc
  • Sonerai Model: 2LS
I have some carbon fiber
« on: Apr 28, 2009 »
I'm a QA inspector for a medical device manufacturer and sometimes have (legal) access to rejected carbon fiber product.  Typically, this is the very attractive 2x2 twill carbon fiber.  There is nothing wrong with the carbon fiber, the parts may have had a machining error whic does not affect the carbon, etc.  I am going to use some of it for a panel, seat panels, etc.

It occurs to me that since I am just starting the build process, I might be able to trade some of this material for some of the smaller things I will need.  Clecos, old, but serviceable instruments, small tools, extra landing gear fairings, whatever.

The material can be as large as 24" long by 18-20" wide, and about .070" thick.  It is cured prepreg, often multiple biased plies, so its very stiff.  Ideal for panels and such, but I will not recommend it for anything structural. 

Let me know if any of you Sonerai owners (see?  Loyal to the breed already, lol) have a need for a piece of this carbon fiber, and what size you need.  Maybe we can work something out.

I also have access to nylon and Delrin rod, bar, and block material (mfg. drop).

Tom
Member, Taildragging Stick Monkey Association

N127PZ

• Subscriber
  • registered
  • My Gallery
  • Engine: Revmaster 1700
  • Sonerai Model: SIIL - single seat
Re: I have some carbon fiber
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2009 »
Tom, I don't know what I got to trade you but I am sure I have something you might need. Jeurgen has a couple of great articles about carbonfiber panel and throttle quadrant. I will rumage thru the work shop this weekend. ;D
-Pete
Prayer does not use up artificial energy, doesn't burn up any fossil fuel, doesn't pollute. Neither does song, neither does love, neither does the dance.
Margaret Mead

n3480h

• Subscriber
  • registered