• Welcome aboard HomebuiltAirplanes.com, your destination for connecting with a thriving community of more than 10,000 active members, all passionate about home-built aviation. Dive into our comprehensive repository of knowledge, exchange technical insights, arrange get-togethers, and trade aircrafts/parts with like-minded enthusiasts. Unearth a wide-ranging collection of general and kit plane aviation subjects, enriched with engaging imagery, in-depth technical manuals, and rare archives.

For a nominal fee of $99.99/year or $12.99/month, you can immerse yourself in this dynamic community and unparalleled treasure-trove of aviation knowledge.

Embark on your journey now!

Click Here to Become a Premium Member and Experience Homebuilt Airplanes to the Fullest!

Larger Oil Cooler?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sonerainut

Greetings All!

I am new to the Sonerai.net website and this online forum, so If I am going about this the wrong way please let me know.

I have a IILS with a stock Great Plains 2180 cc engine and have been fighting high oil temps since my first flight, CHT's are OK. I basically have to manage power and climb speed to keep the oil temp from redlining - no fun flying when I'm thinking I'm frying the engine. I have tried several different ducting schemes, etc. with no avail. The engine is equipped with the stock VW top mount oil cooler with a set back plate from Great Plains.

I noticed in Scott Plischke's photos that he originally had the same stock cooler and wound up installing the larger (Great Plains?) cooler. I am pretty sure I need to go the way Scott did , but before I start changing things I thought I would throw this out for comments.

Thanks for the help.

Regards,

Lee Riedel (sonerainut)

Lee,

Welcome to the forum. You did perfect for your first post!